Government, politics

Government, politics

Lithuania is an independent democratic republic with a multi-party parliament. Our state's legislative power is vested in the Seimas (as we call our Parliament), the executive - in the Government. Lithuania’s foreign policy is carried out by the President and the Government.

The President’s term of office is 5 years. The President is elected by all citizens of Lithuania who are over 18 years of age. The President can be elected for no more than two consecutive terms. Currently, our country is led by the eighth head of state after the Restoration of Independence President Gitanas Nausėda.

President Gitanas Nausėda and the First Lady Diana Nausėdienė at the innauguration of the President of Lithuania, July 12, 2019
Photo: Jurijus Azanovas (MFA)

Seimas – is the name of our parliament, supreme legislative body. Seimas is a unicameral parliament with 141 members who are elected in direct and secret elections for a 4 year term. The first sitting of the Seimas after the elections is opened by the eldest member of the Seimas.

The Government is composed of Prime Minister, acting as its head, and a cabinet of 14 ministers – the country’s executive body